Does Protein Powder have Gluten?

Author: No Comments Share:
Does Protein Powder have Gluten?

Protein is one of the essential nutrients of our body. When it comes to the growth and development of our muscles, protein plays a major role.

While it is commonly found in several foods, most commonly, in lean meats such as pork, beef, venison, lamb, and in poultry such as chicken meat, there are instances when protein is desired to be taken in its purest form, since these meats also contain other substances, such as unhealthy trans-fat and carcinogens created by cooking the meat, which of course, are undesired, due to the various negative health effects they has on the body.

What is Protein Powder?

When it comes to looking for means of consuming protein in its purest form, protein powder was thus created. There are several kinds and brands of protein powder out in the market, and these protein powders have different target consumers.

Some protein powders are designed to serve as supplemental food for those who are on a diet. It is also popularly consumed by those who hit the gym to get toned and fit bodies and larger muscle masses, and also for those who wish to recover faster from injuries of the muscles.

What is Gluten?

There are just so many additives and ingredients that go in the Protein Shakes. Gluten is a natural source of protein and is therefore, one of the things which are a common ingredient in various protein brands. There are, however, several health concerns associated with Gluten consumption, and some individuals have been found to be allergic.

Gluten, especially coming from casein and wheat, is a common ingredient in Protein Shakes. This is an area of concern, especially for those who have hypersensitivity to Gluten, and those who have Celiac’s Disease, wherein the ingestion of Gluten can have adverse effects on health, the most common of which is indigestion.

Despite this potential health concern however, most of the popular brands for protein powder still make use of gluten-containing ingredients.

Gluten-Free Protein Powder

The good news about protein powder is that wheat is not its sole source. As a matter of fact, there are several other sources for protein that do not contain Gluten, and these are used to make Gluten-Free Protein Powder. Sources of this refreshing alternative include plant sources, such as pea protein, rice protein, hem protein, and soy protein.

While these are not as widely available as their gluten-containing counterparts, these are believed to still be a good alternative. The reason for this is that, apart from protein, it is still possible for you to take in all the amino acids that are necessary to facilitate bodily functions and for growth and repair of muscles from these gluten-free sources.

Also, Gluten-free protein powder enables vegans to have a richer source of protein, which is one of the nutrients that they are usually prone to being deficient in. Having said that, gluten-free protein powder works just as effectively as the ones with gluten.

Gluten-Free Protein Powder Brands

MRM VEGGIE ELITE

This brand of protein powder makes use of Proteins obtained from Pea and Rice, which is believed to be the most digestible. Also, it has received rave reviews due to its taste, and is thus a popular choice among those who are on the lookout for Gluten-Free Protein Powder.

VEGA ONE

The Vega One is an all-in-one Protein Shake, containing Fiber, Omega-3, Antioxidants, Probiotics, and Greens apart from the Protein you are looking for in a shake. This fact makes it ideal for those who are into heavy physical activity, and could serve as a meal to those who are on a diet.

SUN WARRIOR PROTEIN

The Sun Warrior Protein is one of the most complete protein powders around, and has one of the highest content for it, at a massive 85% per serving, much more than others. Its great taste compared to other bland protein powders make it popular among protein shake drinkers as well.

Conclusion

Does protein powder have gluten? While most of the ones out in the market are primarily made of it, there are gluten-free alternatives as well for you to enjoy the ultimate vegan diet experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *